Indira Gandhi Maternity Support Scheme (I.G.M.S.Y)

| Sector: Rural & Urban

The Indira Gandhi Matritva Sahyog Yojana (IGMSY) is a maternity benefit program run by the Government of India. It was introduced in 2010 and is implemented by the Ministry of Women and Child Development (WCD). It is a conditional cash transfer scheme for pregnant and lactating mothers of 19 years of age or above for the first two live births. It provides partial wage compensation to women for wage-loss during the childbirth and childcare, and aims to promote conditions for safe delivery, good nutrition, and feeding practices. In 2013, the scheme was brought under the National Food Security Act (NFSA), 2013 to implement the provision of cash maternity benefit of Rs. 6,000 stated in the Act.

Objectives of the Scheme

  1. Promoting appropriate practice, care and institutional service utilization during pregnancy, delivery and lactation.
  2. Encouraging the women to follow (optimal) nutrition and feeding practices, including early and exclusive breastfeeding for the first six months.
  3. Providing cash incentives for improved health and nutrition to pregnant and lactating mothers.
  4. The scheme attempts to partly compensate for wage loss to pregnant and lactating women both prior to and after delivery of the child.


Pregnant women above the age of 19 years are eligible for benefits under IGMSY for the first two live births. All organized sector employees are excluded from the scheme as they are entitled for paid maternity leave.


Provision of maternity benefit of Rs. 6000 in cash.

How To Apply

Majority of the beneficiary mothers receive information about IGMSY benefits from the Aanganwadi Centers and Healthcare Centres at the village and Gram Panchayat level. The Anganwadi workers (AWWs) and the ANMs are the prime informants of such benefits to the beneficiaries.